My New Computer

So, I got a new laptop. It’s a black MacBook with Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16GHz, 2Gb of RAM, and 160Gb of hard disk. The Mac OS Leopard is beautiful and easy to use (of course, I am using Mac OS on my iMac at home, so the OS is not something new to me).

I also installed Windows XP on the new machine using BootCamp. It works fine, except a problem with the clock. While Mac OS saves the real time clock (in the BIOS) as GMT, Windows (stupidly) saves it as local time (mine is GMT-5). That  difference causes problem. I found a solution on the Internet and my feeling is that it’s a correct solution. You need to create a key in the Windows registry to tell it to use GMT (or UTC) time in the BIOS. The detail is: a DWORD key called HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\TimeZoneInformation\RealTimeIsUniversal needs to have the value of “1.”

Another problem to which I am finding a solution is the syncing with my Palm TX. No good solution yet.

This entry was posted in Computer, MacOS, Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Computer

  1. Nga says:

    Great!!! I’m totally broke. As soon as I settle the flight ticket, housing & stuffs I’ll, hopefully, get a new laptop :-p

Leave a Reply

