Life – Work Balance

2011-10-01 Sat 16:54

When it comes to balancing life and work, I am very bad. I have been very busy recently, solving problems, developing new ideas, coding, and writing papers. When a new idea pops out of my head, I am always get excited and will work on it immediately until I either fail or achieve something interesting. I guess it is good for research. But certainly it is not good for my life and my health, because whenever that happened, I ended up staying up late until 3 AM, even 4 AM. I had meals late. I might stay in the lab for hours and skip all workouts. As a matter of fact, I have skipped my morning exercise and many swimming sessions for several weeks. And sleep deprivation starts being a new issue.

I know that I need to balance my life and my work. I know that I need to put breaks, physical activities, playing time, social time, as well as other non-work things, into my life besides work. I know that if I don’t take care of myself well, both physically and mentally, it will have negative effect on me intellectually. But it is so, so hard. When I am in the middle of working out some research problems, or writing some code, it is too difficult to pause and go to sleep or go to the gym. To me, it seems impossible.

I don’t know what to do about this problem. I am sure a lot of people have this same issue and probably there are methods/strategies to deal with it. I will look for some and try to apply them. Hopefully everything will become better.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

